A night in Eastern Europe

It has been snowing. the. entire. day. It looks beautiful and all but it makes it so much harder to get my lazy butt off the couch and do something. However, I was motivated enough to get my butt up off the couch and venture out into the cold to go to the mall! And, I think that every one had the exact same idea as we did because it was packed. I got 2 fabulous tops from Express and we went shopping for work clothes for Hans. Nothing is better than spending Saturday afternoon shopping πŸ™‚ Back to breakfast! I was craving some major oats this morning due to the awkward snow in late March. I cooked my oats on the stove top, I can never revert back to the microwave. Stovetop oats > microwave oats, no doubt. I made 1/2 cup oats with 3/4 cup water, 1 small banana, less than a tsp of brown sugar and some cinnamon. At the end of the cooking process, I added a heavenly spoonful of Mighty Maple PB. This breakfast warmed me right up!

oatmeal-and-snickers-001

For lunch, I made a wrap using a Flat Out. I spread 1 tbsp of Almond Butter and loaded the wrap with spinach. The first time I tried this combo, it sounded disgusting. I always associated nut butters pairing with something sweet, like a banana, but the AB and spinach surprisingly tasted well together.

ab-spinach-wrap

For dinner, we traveled to the Czech republic for a wonderful Eastern European dinner, ha I wish! Our friends cooked dinner for us tonight, and they’re roots are in Czeckia. They cooked Bierochs this evening, which I thought were originally from Germany but I guess they were previously eaten in Czeckia too. This is my first time to try Eastern European cuisine, and it was divine! In the past, this food was probably used as a cheap dinner, but it was delicious and perfect comfort food for a snowy day. The pastries were light and inside the “German hamburgers” were lean ground beef, onions and cabbage along with some spices. As you have probably noticed.. I am not a big meat eater, but if some one goes out of their way to cook a fabulous meal and they serve it with meat, I will eat it and I will enjoy it. My motto is and will always be everything in moderation. Also, when I travel, I always try the culture’s food because I don’t believe you are given the full experience without tasting what their cuisine is all about.

When we first arrived to the dinner, I snacked on some carrots:

sat-3-29-002

To start, I had a small bowl of some amazing homemade potato soup:

sat-3-29-001

Eastern European Buroch:

sat-3-29-003

Tonight was a fun night filled with great food and fun company, what more could I ask for? πŸ™‚

As far as the OSG’s BBBC (holy abbreviation!!), I did 2 sets of 12 lunges and 2 sets of 12 squats. My legs were a bit sore fromΒ  yesterday’s ‘tone your thighs with yoga’ slide show that I found on Fit Sugar but I somehow managed. For my cardio, I power walked around the mall for 2 hours! Hey, it was exhausting.. definitely counts as a cardio workout!

I enjoyed the odd snow day in March but I am so happy that tomorrow’s forecast is sunny and 70 because we will be packing our car with all of our crap to leave on Monday morning and it would have been so much more of a hassle if it would have been cold and snowing, so I give a big thanks to the schizophrenic Oklahoma weather!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “A night in Eastern Europe

  1. Oh wow, super delicious eats. I love your wrap! Oh tonight and tomorrow is super snowy for me!

  2. priyankalovesfood

    I never thought of Almond butter and Spinach combo but it definitely deserves a try.

    We don’t have snow here but it has been odd with the Rain, cloudy weather and the occasional thunderstorms!!

    The dinner looks great!

  3. Spinach & Almond butter = amazing!

  4. cleanveggiex3

    AWESOME wrap girl. wow its perfect
    oh and oats of course πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, that’s cool that your friends cooked you Czech food! πŸ™‚ And that does sound like an odd combo for a wrap, I’ve always been one to associate nut butter with something sweet too but I can definitely see how this could be good. Nice idea there! I’ll email you the recipe for oatmeal creme pies by the way! Remind me if I forget!! πŸ™‚

  6. I think nut butter goes with just about anything at this point πŸ˜‰

    As soon as I saw Czech food I froze. Seriously, haha! When I was in Prague we were served the grossest food it made all of us sick! Yours sounds like a good choice though!

  7. Oatmeal is seriously the best comfort food on cold mornings!

  8. All your food looks delish!

  9. Looks like a great day with great food πŸ™‚ Don’t know if I will be trying the spinach/almond butter combo anytime soon… πŸ™‚ We had some crazy weather here too this weekend! I can’t wait for it to be spring for good!

  10. glad you had a nice night! sorry about the snow!! your wrap looks so yummy– dont u love wraps ! haha have a great ngiht xo

  11. Your oats sound like mine and I totally agree on the stove top vs microwave thing! Stove top is hands down the best.

Leave a Reply

