You know you’re in Oklahoma when…

1. You wake up on a late March morning and it’s low 70’s without a cloud in sight.

2. The temperature drops 10 degrees in 1 hour.

3. The sunshine turns into a thunderstorm in 30 minutes.

4. Possible tornado warnings in the area for tonight.

5. The weatherman predicts snow on Saturday evening.

6. And on Sunday the high is 70.

Crazy Oklahoma weather!! ..especially in the spring. A tornado can formulate in an hour when it has been sunny the entire day! Gotta love it! I hope the weather is a little more predictable in Charlotte.

I had my normal breakfast this morning. Sorry, to be so repetitive but I just love my yogurt/musli/PB combination. I look forward to it as soon as I wake up! I promise not to be so boring with my breakfasts when we move. 🙂 Not only will I get to cook for us every night but I will get to eat the stuff I really enjoy instead of going through my parents fridge’s every day. I can’t wait! My musli bowl this morning contained 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt, 1/4 cup musli, 1/4 cup oats, about 1/3 of a banana, and the usual spoonful of Mighty Maple PB! I got a question yesterday about Mighty Maple peanut butter so I just thought I would talk a little about it. I have tried various types of Peanut Butter & Co flavors like Dark Chocolate Dreams, White Chocolate Wonderful, The Bee’s Knees and Mighty Maple and Mighty Maple is by far my favorite. The idea of adding such flavors to peanut butter was intriguing to me. When I first tried Mighty Maple, I was surprised to taste such a distinct maple flavor that could easily be masked by peanuts but wasn’t at all. I recommend any one to try them! I have been wanting to attempt to make some homemade peanut butter with various flavors and it is on my to do list once we are settled.

1/4 cup musli, 1/4 cup oats, 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt, 1/3 small banana and a spoonful of peanut butter heaven:

thur-3-25-001

We couldn’t do anything outside this morning since there was a thunderstorm but that was okay since my grandma is in town!! My grandma and I are very close, she is my role model not only for well-being but in other ways as well. She is such a strong woman. In my opinion, she is the epitome of health! It just comes so easily for her, she always makes healthy choices without over thinking it. This is a goal of mine regarding well-being. I know that I eat healthy about 90% of the time but I tend to over think it a little sometimes. I really wish that I could trust myself with my knowledge of well-being and health and loosen up a little. I am better than I was before though so I see it as a work in progress. 🙂

My grandma is back in Oklahoma after the winter since it is starting to get warmer. She ‘migrates’ to Southern Texas for the ‘cold’ Oklahoma winters that are below freezing for about 1 week out of the year, haha! After visiting with my grandma, I finally had the chance to sit down with my yoga mat. I had been looking forward to yoga since I woke up this morning, it did not disappoint today. I felt so refreshed and it calmed my nerves for the rest of the day. I did a short 30 min core class from yogadownloads.

After yoga and talking with some people about an apartment in Charlotte, it was time for lunch! I was really wanting some pizza! It just sounded so good! Instead of a real pizza slice, I opted for the next best thing! A wrap disguised as pizza! I took a Flat Out and spread a thin layer of bbq sauce on it (there was no marinera sauce in the house), loaded it with spinach, broke up 1 slice of provolone into tiny pieces and sprinkled it on top of the spinach and then added a half of a chopped tomato. I put my wrap pizza in the oven for about 10 minutes at 350 and Voilà!! Out comes my faux pizza! It was delicious! Just what I had been craving.. I really enjoyed the bbq suace in place of the marinera for something different and it paired well with the provolone and the spinach! This was my first time to buy Flat Out wraps so I give them a thumbs up considering the fact that I bought them this weekend and I only have 1 left! (There is a ton of American food that I have never tried since I lived in Sweden for so long so I think that these aren’t new?? I am not really sure though)

thur-3-25-002

For an afternoon snack, I had a small Gala apple. This particular apple had so much flavor!

thur-3-25-005

We went out to a Mexican restaurant for dinner tonight for yet another good-bye/celebration for the upcoming move. We decided on Mexican because everywhere that we have traveled to in the states that is outside of the ‘Greater Texas’ area just doesn’t have Mexican food that is up to par with this region! Mexican food is our specialty around here!

I had about 3 chips with salsa, because.. well who can resist that? Soo good!! (no pic) I ate my snack about an hour before we went so I didn’t snack on too many chips! I find that this method works well when going out to a Mexican restaurant. I usually snack on some fruit or veggies before we leave and then I can pace myself with the chips and salsa. Works like a charm!

My grandma and I shared the veggie fajitas which had portabella mushrooms, zucchini, squash, onions, peppers and on the side we had some guacamole, salsa, and black beans.

I had 2 delicious fajitas (they were tiny!) with all the veggies except onions and peppers. Topped with some guacamole and salsa! My family loves Mexican food, they always want to go out for Mexican. I try to get them to branch out a little bit but they never seem to do so but that’s okay because these fajitas were fabulous!! I can’t wait to try some new restaurants in Charlotte!! (haha, can you guys tell I am excited to move??)

thur-3-25-006

It was kind of sad to say goodbye to my grandma tonight though, but at least I will see her more than if we had moved back to Sweden!

Tomorrow is yoga day and Friday!!!! Get excited! 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “You know you’re in Oklahoma when…

  1. Oh wow, the weather sure is cuckooo. lol.
    Love your eats, pizza looks great!

  2. Yum, loveee Mexican too! Especially with lots of guacamole.

  3. MMMMM. That pizza looks delicious! I haven’t tried the Mighty Maple yet. I’m definitely going to have to try that one.

  4. Ohh, crazy weather. We’ve still got some snow on the ground here. Meh… :/ Your pizza looks great!

  5. what crazy weather! hahah. so you like in oklahoma? thats cool! the pizza looks so delish! glad you had fun at dindin! oxox

  6. Your flat out pizza looks awesome. I haven’t tried making that before, but now I will. Since you have the bbq sauce, I would make my favorite California Pizza kitchen pizza which is the bbq sauce, shredded chicken, and red onions…so good!

  7. That weather sounds like Michigan! Your grandma sounds like a wonderful lady!

    So many good eats – love the pizza and Mexican!!

  8. That pizza looks great! I would never have guessed it was a Flat Bread pizza, it looks like it was baked on a wonderful thin crust. yum!

Leave a Reply

