Lovin’ my veggies

After such an indulgent evening, I was craving some serious veggies today! They were about all I wanted to eat all day. It’s crazy that your body tells you what it needs if you will just listen to it. When my body wants chocolate, I am happy to listen! When my body wants veggies, well.. I try to listen to that too! Hey, I never said I was perfect πŸ™‚

For breakfast, I had one of Angela’s famous Green Monsters, exactly what I needed after all that wine and chocolate. It was fresh and light but filling enough to get me through until lunch. I threw a small banana, a handful of spinach and about a cup of vanilla soy milk into the blender and out came this beautiful green creation, and hey.. kudos to Angela for whipping up these things with just kale, carrots and some soy milk, lol I don’t think I could do it!

thurs-3-19-006

I cleaned the kitchen all morning since I had made a pretty big mess this week baking and cooking. My mom and little brother are gone on vacation so I took full advantage of having a kitchen all to myself! But, the bad thing about it is that I am so scatter-brained that I have a hard time keeping anything clean about 98% of the time, oops! I really need to work on that.

After an intensive workout cleaning the kitchen, I sat down to a fantastic lunch!! Again, with the veggies! I sauteed a few handfuls of spinach and 1 tomato, seasoned it with some salt and pepper and then added some garlic roasted hummus and 1/4 of an avocado. Can I just say how much I love avocados? Wow, they are just so dang good! My grandma has a ‘winter’ house in southern Texas and we go down to Mexico every year just for the avocados. They taste so much better than any avocado I have ever tasted. Luckily, my mom is bringing me back some this weekend! Ohhh yeah!

thurs-3-19-007

After lunch, I did some delicious yoga and made some delicious baked goods (all the while totally making a huge mess in the kitchen after I had just cleaned it, seriously it looked like a tornado had gone through our house, haha). After cleaning the kitchen, yet again, we headed over to our friend’s house to walk their adorable pomeranian, Lulu. She is so full of energy and life, I just love her! We have had the pleasure to dog sit her for the past few days! After walking Lulu, I refueled with some afternoon tea and a Clif nectar bar in the chocolate walnut flavor. This bar was great! I am usually pretty picky about bars since I moved back from Sweden just because they taste so artificial to me, but this one tasted just like the all natural ingredients that were listed on the back! Can any one recommend some yummy, natural-tasting bars for me to try?

thurs-3-19-0011

I was absolutely starving for dinner tonight! So, I kinda just threw a whole bunch of veggies into a skillet and called it an Asian-inspired veggie stir-fry! First, I sauteed some broccoli, sliced carrots, a tomato, and about a 1/2 cup of kidney beans then toward the end I saw some spinach in the fridge that was on it’s last end and decided I should throw that into the mix too! I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder, oriental hot sauce and soy sauce. The verdict? It was pretty good for just grabbing a bunch of stuff out of the fridge and throwing it together. It was colorful and interesting to eat, a different taste with every bite! And I definitely ate in front of the tv tonight! It was one of those days!

veggieful-stir-fry1

I am so glad that tomorrow is Friday!! I have been thinking about doing a FAQ post, so if any one has any questions for me, you can leave them in the comments section below! They can be about food, yoga, Sweden, baking, or just life in general! Have a fabulous evening!

Edited to add: Our friends that we dog sitted for this week got back tonight and brought us a lot of Swedish food from IKEA as payment!! πŸ™‚ That means… Swedish candy! For dessert, I had 2 squares of Marabou chocolate with hazelnuts and 2 gummy candies.

swedish-candy-002

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Lovin’ my veggies

  1. That dinner looks fabulous! I can’t wait until it warms up here so I can get my smoothie on – these green ones are so intriguing!

    From one Scandinavian to another, I love your blog!! πŸ˜‰

  2. your eats look so great!! love the candy πŸ™‚ hehe ! thank you for posting the recipe πŸ™‚ you are the best

  3. MMMMMm yummy! Love all the colors too!

  4. deeelish! I know i am totally scared of the green monsters πŸ˜€ I would add banana, and probably splenda to mine haha. I love the ikea treats, and your wedding pics are SO gorg, congrats on the anniversary, have a great friday!

  5. I haven’t tried the Nectar bars, I’ve heard they are great though! Most of the regular Clif bars I have tried are excellent.

  6. the lemon, vanilla, cashew Nectar bar is my favorite, but they’re all good. I also looooovee larabars (especially coconut creme and peanut butter cookie) and just tried my first pure bar yesterday which was great!

  7. I love nectar bars! I have the same problem with over-processed artificial nutrition bars . . . they just taste weird to me.

    I am so jealous of your avocado hookup!!! Can you start distributing those too? hehe

Leave a Reply

