Chokladkaka

is such a funny sounding word! haha, it really is.. Sometimes Swedish words just make me laugh, they are so Germanic! Swedes sound like they are singing when they speak, pretty cool! Anyway, back to what I was supposed to be posting about! The Swedish chocolate cake recipe that I used to bake our fabulous chocolate cake for our 1 year wedding anniversary. This. is. the. best. chocolate. cake. ever. invented. Hans’ mom is a genius! It is not only the best chocolate dessert, it is the best thing that I have ever tasted, better then all the fancy restaurants we have tried in Stockholm. It is a very indulgent cake but so worth it! I baked it for my friends when they came to visit me in Sweden and they raved about it so much that when I got back home I seriously baked the damn thing about 5 times in 1 week for every one who wanted it, no joke! It’s that good! I can still remember the first bite of this chocolate cake, it was September of 2007 and I couldn’t believe my taste buds. It is so rich and pure chocolate heaven. Okay, I will shut up about how freakin’ good it is and post the recipe!

*8 oz of baking chocolate (I used 56% cocoa)
*8 oz real butter
*4 eggs
*1 cup sugar
*1 cup flour
*1/4 tsp baking soda

-Melt butter and chocolate in a water bath. Bring water to boil in a large saucepan and place a smaller saucepan in the middle with the butter and chocolate in it to melt.
-Whip eggs and sugar together in bowl on high for 10 minutes.
-Add flour and baking powder to the melted chocolate mixture.
-Mix the chocolate and egg mixtures together into one.
-You must use a springform pan for this cake. Put wax paper on the bottom of the pan  and grease the entire pan and sprinkle with chopped hazelnuts.
-Pour the cake batter into the springform pan.
-Bake at 390 deg Fahrenheit for 12 to 15 minutes.

The cake will be ‘loose’ in the middle (loose is what they used in Swedish and I directly translated it because I couldn’t think of another word for it) and cooked around the edges.

**You must let this cake completely cool until you attempt taking it out of the pan, what works best for me is to let it cool and then keep it in the fridge for a few hours and then take it out of the pan! This is very important part of baking this cake!
**Also, the cake has to sit in the fridge overnight before it can be served. Take the cake out of the fridge 30 minutes before serving and sift cocoa on top. Also, this cake is best served with whipped cream on the side. I am talkin’ about the whipped cream that you buy in a carton and whip yourself not the crappy whipped cream from a can 🙂

thurs-3-19-002

So, rich and creamy!

chocolate-and-wine-0051

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chokladkaka

  1. cleanveggiex3

    looks delicious!

  2. yay!! i was just drooling over this cake in your last post, and lo and behold, here’s the recipe! thanks 🙂

  3. wow, that looks amazing!!

  4. i don’t think i could ever successfully make this cake because i am seriously the most IMPATIENT person in the world when it comes to baking–I need to taste everything immediately!

    looks good though!

  5. Shirow66

    That looks like a classic Swedish “kladdkaka”, which basically means sticky cake. They are usually very rich and I have trouble eating more than one slice. There are plenty of fantastic Swedish bakery goods to try. Have you tried a semla?

Leave a Reply

