Choco-pumpkin Brownies

As soon as I woke up and came downstairs this morning for breakfast, my step-brother came in the kitchen and the conversation went a little like this.

Step-bro: “Haleigh, Haleigh.. what are ya eating??”
Me: “Oatmeal.” …Said with an intense, raspy voice due to waking up about 20 minutes earlier.
Step-bro: “Eeewww…. that’s yucky! Can  you make me some brownies?”

Haha, so I had a morning filled with baking brownies! I rummaged through the pantry for all possible ingredients to put into a brownie recipe. I found the chocolate and then I found some pumpkin, and I thought… well okay, that sound’s interesting. It could either turn out amazing or a complete failure! But, it turned out somewhere in between. Here is what I came up with.

Choco-pumpkin Brownies

* 2 large eggs
* 1/2 cup brown sugar
* 1/2 cup sugar
* 8 ounces melted butter, I used Smart Balance 50/50 blend.
* 1/2 cup cocoa
* 1 cup canned pumpkin
* 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
* 1/2 cup flour
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1 tsp baking powder
* 1/2 cup, chopped pecans
* about 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour an 8-inch square pan. Beat the eggs at medium speed until fluffy. Add both sugars. Beat the eggs and sugar. Add remaining ingredients, and mix to combine.

Pour the batter into prepared pan and bake for about 20 to 25 minutes. Use the toothpick method to judge if it is done or not.

choco-pumpkin-brownies-001

choco-pumpkin-brownies-002

I didn’t try any of these brownies but my step-mom is an avid baker and I trust her opinion as my taste-tester. She said:

“These aren’t even half as good as the PB Nutella brownies that you baked the other day but they are still delicious in their own right. I am kind of disappointed though because I could hardly taste the pumpkin. These brownies are both cakey and fudgey, the taste is more like a normal brownie. Although not as good as the brownies that you made the other day, they are definitely blog-worthy.”

So there ya go, if these don’t strike your fancy then I definitely sugget the PB Nutella Brownies that I baked the other day because they were fabulous! PB Nutella Brownies

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Choco-pumpkin Brownies

  1. hahaha awesome morning! i think the only way to make pumpkin baked goods taste like “pumpkin” is to LOAD them up with spices. (and are you surprised the pb nutella brownies were better? bc i’m not! i can’t really imagine a better brownie combo than that …)

  2. I bet I’d loooove those! And how great is weekend baking?

    I will never understand how people can bake and resist eating their goods right after! I always “test taste” before during and after! 🙂

Leave a Reply

